Lothar Otto Anniversary Award

for innovation and research transfer at universities of applied sciences

What will be honoured:

  • Master's theses
  • Doctoral theses
  • Institutional transfer

Goal, subject and assessment criteria

In celebration of the university's 150th anniversary, the transfer potential of Mittweida's educational institutions ranging from the "Technikum" (institute of technology) through to the university of applied sciences is to be demonstrated by today's biggest accomplishments. For this purpose, outstanding academic theses and successful institutionalized transfer efforts in economy and society - especially the foundation of companies as a result of excellent study and research achievements - will be awarded a price. This applies to all of the university's current academic departments: engineering, science, economics, media studies and social sciences.

Right of proposal

All proposals will be judged by an independent jury composed of scientists and experts from economy and society. The jury will decide by simple majority. All decisions are final. The jury reserves the right to check papers with plagiarism software.

The award serves as a means to encourage young scientists and includes a prize money of 2,000 Euros.

Overview of the procedure

Who can apply?

Current and former students of Mittweida University

What to submit?

  • preferably PDF files or physical copies (printed, bound)
  • a CV with detailed professional background

(Deadline: 31 December 2016)

Where to send?

Digital submission via: 150jahre@hs-mittweida.de
Email subject should be: "Lothar Otto Anniversary Award"

The award ceremony will be held in the course of Mittweida University's 150th anniversary festivities between 5 and 7 April 2017.

Any questions?

Please contact Dr. Ramona Kusche (Phone: +49 3727 58 1202, Email: 150jahre@hs-mittweida.de)